An Eating Disorder and Celiac . . . (not a good combination)

Recovering from an eating disorder is hard enough, but trying to achieve that when you have celiac disease makes it a hell of a lot worse. For those of you who don’t know what celiac is, let me give you a quick run-through. Basically celiac disease is an autoimmune disorder where your body gets pretty pissed when you eat even the tiniest bit of gluten. Once that gluten gets inside of you, your immune system wages war. It attacks the small intestine, mercilessly assaulting its villi (small projections in your small intestine that help absorb nutrients) until it becomes so damaged, it’s barely functional. This obviously results in various consequences including malnutrition, weight-loss, diarrhea, severe abdominal pain, and a heck of a lot more. Fortunately, there is a treatment for this disorder . . . a very restricting gluten-free diet. Though gluten is a protein that is found in barley, wheat, and rye, you can find it added to almost every food on the market. Sugary BBQ sauce, ketchup, ice cream, toothpaste, you name it! Not to mention you have to worry about cross contamination since even the smallest crumb means one unhappy GI tract. So . . . hopefully you can see this diet is pretty restrictive and when you are trying to recover from an eating disorder being restrictive in your food choices is that last thing you need.
Lucky for me though, I am a pretty stubborn young lady. When I get my mind set to something, I am not going to change. I realize this can be a dangerous characteristic of mine, but right now my mind is set on something positive . . . recovery. Sure, my diet may be pretty restricted due to my celiac, but I don’t give a shit. Actually, I can’t give a shit because once I do reclaiming my life will be made all the more difficult to achieve.

2 thoughts on “An Eating Disorder and Celiac . . . (not a good combination)

  1. was your celiac disease confirmed by a positive biopsy? If not, would you still eat gluten free based on positive blood work? Thanks

    1. Yes my celiac disease was confirmed by a biopsy. I would recommend getting a biopsy done if someone had a positive blood test because it is not uncommon for blood tests to be false positive. It is not fun or easy to eat 100% gluten-free and if someone has an eating disorder, kicking out ALL gluten-containing foods can cause their eating disorder behaviors to increase. It also gives people an excuse not to eat a food, which isn’t good.

      If you have more questions about celiac disease, feel free to write me a message. You can do this by clicking the CONTACT ME tab on the menu bar.
      Stay strong 🙂
      Claire 🙂

Leave a Reply

