Reclaiming My Crown

“Who cares if you disagree. You are not me. Who made you king of anything?”

If you are an avid listener of the remarkable musician Sara Bareilles, you probably know that those words above came from her song “King of Anything”.  Though this song is probably addressing some idiotic, over-controlling boyfriend, I associate this it with something much different. Eating disorder recovery.

Whenever I hear this tune and its powerful lyrics, I think of me suddenly having the strength to talk back to every single degrading sentence ED forcing into my mind. I finally feel like I can tell him to get the hell out because I don’t give a damn about what his sick opinion may be. He doesn’t have the right to be the king any longer, for I am the rightful heir to the thrown and once I get that crown back on my head, I will make sure I personally burn that asshole at the stake.

Leave a Reply

