A Different Life

Sometimes I wonder what my life would of been like if I was born in a different family. With a different name. A different mother. A different life…

Maybe I would have a mom who was there for me and whose job never came before her loved ones. Maybe I would be a young ballerina, dancing with fluidity and grace across some of most lovely stages. Maybe, just maybe, a beautiful smile would stretch across my face and I would be happy.

But unfortunately I haven’t been dealt those cards in life. I have a mom who barely has enough time to talk to me on the phone. My parents both have forbidden me from ever wearing a leotard and pointe shoes ( due to the fact they believe ballet causes anorexia. What idiots). And a true smile is something that is seen on my face rarely.

But I guess I shouldn’t be complaining. I have two parents who have good jobs. I have food on the table and I go to a relatively good school. That’s a hell of a lot better than half of the other folks living in this world. Maybe my situation isn’t ideal, but if I think about it, it could be quite possible that it has made me a stronger, more independent young woman. I have learned that I can’t depend on others to get me what I need. I have figured that if I want something in life, I better get off my ass and go for it. These are all important skills. Skills that will help me get out of this house and catch my dreams.

Leave a Reply

