Blessings in Disguise – A New Way to Look at Life

This is how I'm going to start looking at things. :)
This is how I’m going to start looking at things. 🙂

You know, some days I think I completely forget about how blessed I am.  I have two parents who would go to the ends of the earth for me, a roof over my head, clothes on my back, a source of fresh water. I mean, the list could just go on and on  . . .

And yet even though I have all of these wonderful things, I go days without having a true smile stretch across my face. Instead I spend so much time being angry and anxious about even the most trifle of matters. I blow up if my sister decides to not do the dishes. I have a conniption if my mom nags about a chore I didn’t complete. For goodness sakes, I enter a state of complete panic if I hear my dad say that he is going to make dinner for me!

All thanks to a 98 year-old man, I’ve finally realized this is no way to live.

You see, this guy has been through the Great Depression, fought in World War II, nearly died of pneumonia, and suffered a stroke. Despite all these things, he still golfs every single day (and just so you know, he walks to all 9 nine holes AND carries his clubs), rides his antique tricycle to church, and has a smile on his face whenever I see him. For quite some time, I’ve wondered what on earth his secret was. How can someone who’s been through so much still be as lively and joyful as ever?

It’s because he doesn’t see the world the same way I do. For as long as I can remember, I have viewed the world as a dark place filled with hate, fiery, and misery. All of this time though, I should of been looking at everything through the eyes of this wise elder I admire so much where everything, no matter how small, is a blessing in disguise.

So today I vow to try my hardest to stop being such a “Debby Downer” and morph my attitude into one of optimism. Sure, it’s going to a difficult thing to accomplish since I’ve looked at everything so pessimistically for so long, but I am completely willing to adopt this new way of life. The only thing I’ve got to lose is my depression, anger, and anxiety. I don’t know about you, but that seems like a pretty good deal to me.

5 thoughts on “Blessings in Disguise – A New Way to Look at Life

  1. Great Post, I can totally relate. When we really just stop and be quiet; what do we have to be frustrated/anger/anxious for ? Not much. Usually what I am anxious or etc about is quite trivial in relevance to life. Each day being able to wake up and breath is a huge blessing in itself. Some days I get this and some days I am back to my “woe with me” or ” WHAT IF WHAT IF, I CAN’T I CAN’T” attitude. But as you realized and I am realizing,it’s important to be more grateful and to change our attitude. Not easy but definitely doable ( I mean, look at the 98 year old man ). Can we really say anything much ?

  2. Lovely post. It’s usually from the older generation that we find ourselves stopping and second guessing how we live our lives. But believe me, it’s still very hard to continue this way of thinking no matter how hard you try. I have done so and still find myself struggling to stay on the positive side of life.

    Good luck with your newly changed mind set and long may it continue!

    1. Thank you so much for your compliment! That is so kind of you and I can’t explain in words how much it means to me 🙂

Leave a Reply

