Stop Being the Judge!

judgemental

Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle. — Plato

Those were the words I came across while trying to ease my state of complete boredom on StumbleUpon. Let me tell you, this tiny little sentence is probably one of the most powerful ones I’ve ever laid my eyes on.

I know we all hate to admit it, but we human beings are a rather judgmental species.  I mean, just take a few minutes to think about it. When you walk down the street and see some man wearing his pants around his knees and some oversized profanity-filled t-shirt, what are you thinking? Is it that this man must be some successful businessman or an affectionate father? 

No? Yeah, that’s kind of what I thought. . .

Hey, I’m not going to lie. If I saw this man coming down the street, I would immediately think this guy was a drug dealer or some blood-thirsty gangster. I’m sad to say, I would also probably get my butt over to the other side of the road as fast as I could. I am pretty darn sure that a lot of you would do the same.

But you know what, who are we to judge? We don’t know who that man may be or what his story is. For all we know, this man could of grew up in an abusive home where he was lucky to go to bed without a black eye. Right now, he may have a child at home and he’s working two jobs just to put Easy Mac on the table.

So why don’t we just do what Plato said and be kind.

Maybe that smile you flash him as he walks by gives him the strength to make it through the day.

Maybe that compliment you give that girl stops her from cutting her poor arms that she hides under her long-sleeved shirts.

Maybe, just maybe, one random act of kindness we show stops someone from taking their own life.

So let’s remember what Plato said when we start criticizing and critiquing others, because we honestly have no idea what that person may be struggling with on the inside.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Stop Being the Judge!

  1. So very true. Every person is walking wounded as I see it… It’s so easy to forget that when someone annoys you!
    Thank you so much for writing this reminder. It will inspire others.
    x

    1. I am glad this post will help you look at the world with a new lens 🙂 . It is a great reminder for me too because I can be rather judgmental to not only others, but myself as well.

Leave a Reply

