Weight Ranges Don’t Work

I think most people feel this way after seeing their weight upon discharge. . .
I think most people feel this way after seeing their weight upon discharge. . .

Weight ranges. If you’ve ever been forced to experience the horrors of ED treatment, you know how important a weight range is. Treatment centers will stuff you with revolting cafeteria food and metallic tasting Ensures until you reach the number they set for you upon admittance. They honestly don’t care if that number isn’t right for your frame or if it will trigger you to the point where you experience a full-blown relapse. As long as the number is considered “healthy” according to some damn BMI chart (which are actually extremely outdated), the weight is fine for you. I can’t tell you how ludicrous that thought process is . . .

Let me share my own experience with weight-ranges when I was held hostage at Rogers Memorial Hospital’s eating disorder unit. Before my brain was consumed by my ED, my weight was considered to be slightly lower than average (underweight). That is just how my body is made. I can’t do anything about it. Of course, I had lost quite a bit of weight due to my anorexia by the time I was sent to Rogers, so I knew it would be necessary for me to add a few pounds. I was under the impression though that my weight would be restored to its typical slightly underweight range. I mean, that was what was normal for me so why not? Well was I in for a shock! At Rogers they assigned me a goal weight nearly 15 pounds higher than my typical weight.  By the time I was discharged, I was so triggered by my unrealistically high weight that I did everything in my power to lose every single ounce. I got to my typical weight and continued secretly restricting till I lost even more.

So to sum that all up for you, I relapsed.

And that’s the problem with setting high weight ranges. I honestly believe that it is important to set an anorexic’s goal weight at a weight that restores health, but doesn’t go much higher than that. I mean the main goal is to ensure the patient’s weight supports normal functioning of the major organs and allows the patient to menstruate, right? So why set the weight any higher than that if it is quite obvious that it will result in a relapse?

That’s the question I wish I had an answer to. . . .

 

8 thoughts on “Weight Ranges Don’t Work

  1. I struggled with weight issues/skewed body image throughout my teen/college years. Even still, I see myself in a harsh light (so I try not to look too closely. Recently, I had my BMI checked (as part of my work’s discounted medical insurance requirements) and my weight fell within the normal range, however, I know I could stand to lose about fifteen pounds. I have small bones, so even though it’s ‘normal’, it’s high for me – so I see your point here.

    How we feel is a much better indicator of healthy.

    I hope you are able to overcome your struggles. I admire you for deciding to share your experience. It will likely encourage and inspire others.

    1. If your doctor says you don’t need to lose weight, then don’t lose weight. If you are physically healthy, please don’t force any harm on your body by restricting your intake of nourishment. I hope I didn’t trigger anything for you and please recognize that everyone is beautiful, no matter what their size is. I have such a hard time remembering that because of my Ed. I only look at my exterior inside of my interior. I believe though I can work through this and if I can do it, you can to.

      Just keep your head held high and remember to keep moving forward.

  2. This is something I am struggling to get my head around, my dietitian told me my ideal weight – but it was purely based on the BMI chart. Whereas my doctor and therapist and saying I of course do need to gain weight but they asked me what I am comfortable with and what my ideal weight would be. I think they need to understand setting a weight too high is bound to end in a relaphs.

    1. I agree with you 100%! I wish treatment centers would time time to actually listen to us and understand how our eating disorders work!

      1. I think with treatment centers their main goal is just weight gain, fatten people up and off they go. If they took the time to help people properly, well people wouldn’t end back in treatment over and over!

      2. They’re main goal is making money and they only way they can do that is by betting on people relapsing

  3. No. That’s not what it is. I do agree making you 15 pounds heavier is absolutely rediculous. They are not trying to make you relapse to make money. The company makes the extra cash not the employess themselves. However, you can’t remain “underweight: the rest of your life because from your blog posts I can still tell you are no where, where you need to be because you still have a very skewed and sick way of viewing things. I’m glad you are moving forward but this post isn’t right, and I’m not sure you should be giving advice on health and nutrition as you are recovering. It can trigger your blog followers making it thinnk it’s true and when you look back with fresh eyes and a healthy mind you will understand what I’m talking about until then you have every right to get mad at me. At the end of the day I care about you and you care about me.

    1. I am not mad at you Cassie. You are right and when I did write this post, my mind was sick. It is something I need to work on. I hope and pray you are doing better too 🙂

Leave a Reply

