DON’T Shop and Be Thankful

It was 3:30 in the morning when I just couldn’t convince my brain to turn off and allow me to get some more shut eye. Not knowing what to do at this ungodly hour, I decided to visit the site where new ideas are welcomed and allowed to run as freely as wild horses. Yep, that means I went to WordPress.com .

As I was looking through the WordPress reader, in search for some post that would spark my interest, one on the blog of TIME caught my eye. It was entitled “Shut Up and Shop This Turkey Day” – a demand that ignites controversy throughout our shopoholic nation.

This post basically proclaimed that shopping on Thanksgiving is not only perfectly acceptable, it also signifies the vast amount of freedoms that we are given in this country. The author even took the liberty of suggesting that our nation would be no different than North Korea if we forbid shopping on the day we are suppose to be thankful.

I guess I have to say that I couldn’t disagree more with this post. Throughout my years in school and church, I have been taught the meaning of Thanksgiving is to count your blessings – not tackle someone for a TV at some ridiculous doorbuster price. Our nation,  is becoming a land of greed. We no longer see that we are blessed with things like clean running water, fresh fruits and veggies, and a cozy bed. So many people in the world don’t even have one of those things for goodness sake!

Please this Thanksgiving count your blessings instead of counting how many items are in your shopping cart.  I know that is hard to do, especially when you have an ED. When you are one of the many people who struggle with anorexia, bulimia, or binge eating, the idea of Thanksgiving sounds like it comes from a horror film. Anxiety, anger, and frustration are the emotions you may feel during a Thanksgiving meal when you are presented with loads and loads of foods that your eating disorder may not like. I challenge you though this holiday season to push aside all those debilitating negative feelings, I open your eyes to the blessings you have. Believe me, though it may not seem like it, there are many. There really are.

Ideas

If there’s one thing even more uniquely American than choking down mouthfuls of turkey no one wants, green bean casserole no one admits to preparing, and pumpkin pie that no one remembers buying on Thanksgiving, it’s going shopping all the time. For god’s sake, George W. Bush counseled a nation still reeling from the 9/11 attacks that when the going gets tough, the tough go shopping. “Take your families and enjoy life the way we want it to be enjoyed,” he said. Forget baseball—shopping is the national pastime.

Given that, I’m genuinely amazed at the pushback against plans by Walmart, Target, and other major retailers to open their doors on a day that everyone has off but no one has anything to do. Being disgusted by the willingness of stores to open for business on, what, the 10th or 20th most solemn day of the year isn’t…

View original post 742 more words

Leave a Reply

