Daily Inspiration: Freedom

themostimportanttypeoffreedom

Whenever I walk into my dreaded highschool, enter the crowded corridors of the mall, or even stroll through my city’s charming and quaint downtown, I am constantly comparing myself. I see other girls around my age and I envy their impeccable appearance. Their flowing hair is free of split ends or those annoying fly-aways. Their faces are covered in a mask of thick make-up that makes them appear like the flawless models you spot in popular magazines such as Vogue. Oh and don’t even get me started with their clothing!  Their pricey Abercrombie & Fitch skinny jeans hug their beautiful stick-like legs and I swear that the stunning shirts they wear on their perfectly proportional bodies are worth more than my entire closet.  Every time I spot girls like this, I wish I could just hide myself in my room all day.  Sometimes I wonder why the hell God trapped my clever personality in the body of such a hideous creature.

But as I grow older and more mature, I am beginning to realize that every time I compare myself to someone else, I am wishing to be something I am not.  You see, I have absolutely no interest in putting  an ounce of make-up on my face, nor I am willing to spend even just an hour in the mall hunting for over-priced apparel. I have better things to do than waste my time doing that. I could be volunteering at the hospital, playing with my dog, or spending time with my family.  Hell, I could actually be enjoying my life and pursuing my passions and interests! And you know what, I think that is what I am going to do.

Remember, do as the quote above says and stop disguising yourself to be like everyone else. You are a unique gift and have a lot of potential in this world. You owe it to yourself to allow your dreams and aspirations to come true. Stop conforming to today’s messed up society and free yourself.

Leave a Reply

