What’s MinnieMaud?

MinnieMaud is a type of non-evidence based treatment protocol for those suffering from a restrictive eating disorders, like anorexia nervosa. Because of it’s do-it-yourself style, I think many eating disorder sufferers find it quite appealing. No one wants to go into a treatment center and lose complete control over their food intake, so when folks hear of the MinnieMaud option, they seem very attracted to it. Unfortunately, MinnieMaud is probably not your best option when it comes to recovery from anorexia or any other form of restrictive eating disorder. Why is that? Well you will just have to watch this video as well as part 2 to find out! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

When you finish watching, please take the time to go to my youtube channel (just CLICK HERE) and subscribe to my channel. That way you get access to my videos RIGHT when they come out ๐Ÿ™‚ Sounds pretty awesome, right? ๐Ÿ™‚

Before I let you guys go, I wanted to thank you guys for watching and let you guys know that all of you really mean a lot to me. To know that dozens of ย people actually want to hear my voice is an absolutely amazing feeling. Because you guys give me so much, I want to make sure the content in my topic videos are informative, educational, and of course helpful. ย Please if you have a moment ย to fill out the form below with your questions and/or video suggestions. ย By filling out this form, I will be able to make videos that can better help you or your loved one on their journey to recovery or – for those of you who don’t have EDs – get a better understanding on how eating disorders ย effect the lives of many people around the world.

3 thoughts on “What’s MinnieMaud?

  1. While I agree with some of what you say, there are also some limits to it. Inpatient treatment is expensive, not everyone can pay the thousands it costs, and not all treatment is good. I did go to see an ED doctor, and, well, what they said did not help :s and lots of people have bad experiences like this too.
    See, on the YE website, Gwyneth says that all of these things are just guidelines you should take to your health care providers, and discuss it with them. She NEVER says we should go at it alone.
    To me, this makes sense- it’s helpful to those of us who go see doctors and get told to gain back like a third of our bodyweights on 1800cal ‘clean’ food+exercise, or those of us who get sent to months and months of therapy talking about our childhoods while our brains are too starved to actually process anything.
    In an ideal world, ED would be treated like cancer, but we live in a place where many treatment plans don’t follow evidence-based practices (psychoanalysis is big in my country, for example… ๐Ÿ˜ฆ )The YE website at least lets us know what these evidence-based practices are, and the research behind them. At least then we are informed.

    Also, while it absolutely not Maudsley, there is a key concept from Maudsley- When you are starved, endless therapy is useless. Nutritional rehabilitation should always be step one. I think that’s a hugely important concept! I spent months in therapy trying to find out WHY, endlessly talking about my childhood and parents, and all I did during that time was lose more weight. I didn’t understand why it didn’t work, why I didn’t get better. No one thought to tell me that if I needed to eat to get my brain working again. So yeah, basically, to me, the take away from Maudsley is that you have to gain weight before therapy can be effective. So maybe it shouldn’t be called MinniMaud, but that particular, super importan, concept does come from the Maudsley method.

    I may be biased though, as I did recover thanks to MM. I didn’t follow MM, because I did it mostly on my own (and MM says you shouldn’t do it on your own ๐Ÿ™‚ ) But at the time I had no choice. I know I started recovering when I started eating again, and not when I went to see a doctor who told me to stop “bingeing” (I had AN…), or when I went to therapy to talk about my childhood. And because I started eating because MM told me that I HAD to, in order to recover, and that it was OK, I’m really grateful to it. There are quite a few things I don’t agree with, but on the whole, I think it’s a lot better than a lot of other treatment options out there.

    1. Thank you for sharing your experience with MM. I think it is lovely to hear that it helped you get out of Ed’s clutches. YOU ARE SO BRAVE and SO STRONG for making the decision to recover . . . AND DO IT ON YOUR OWN! While “independent” recovery isn’t necessarily the ideal, I do not know your situation and from your comment it sounds like it was either that or succumb to your eating disorder. You are an inspiration for all those battling an ED. Thank you for sharing your story because I know it will inspire so many others.

      1. Thanks ๐Ÿ˜€ I was afraid it would come across wrong, and this is the first post I saw in your blog ๐Ÿ™‚
        I’ve just seen some more of your videos, and you seem so smart and well informed and a generally great person ๐Ÿ™‚ And I just wanted to say, about your last video, that (though I know this can sound hollow) the school stuff and the family stuff really do get better ๐Ÿ™‚ Even if you have to wait for college/moving out, or just for time to pass, or whatever ๐Ÿ™‚ As for the life stuff, I guess it’s what makes us human, and I guess in the end, those relationships were worth it- though it’s still really hard ๐Ÿ˜ฆ And I hope that, health wise, you find out what’s wrong and get better soon! Wishing you all the best! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

