A Day of Laughter, Smiles, and Giving Back

I hate to say this, but it most of the times when I compose a blog post, the post usually paints a picture of an event that has caused me tons of internal anguish. Believe it or not though, today’s entry on yesterday’s (Sunday’s) experiences  is not going to be one laden with sorrow or anger. Instead, I am excited to announce, it is going to overflowing with feelings of absolute happiness – something that I haven’t truly felt in such a long time.

Sunday started off a little bit rocky. I was tossing and turning throughout the night and struggled to get even a short burst of sleep. Once the sun peaked it’s head above the trees, my eyes felt heavy and my brain felt extremely foggy due to me suffering from this acute form of sleep deprivation.  All I wanted to do was stay in bed and attempt to make up for the sleep I had lost. On any other given day that’s exactly what I would have done, but on Sunday that was not a possibility because I had made a commitment at church. You see, last year I started a ministry at my church called Faithfully Fit. The goal of this ministry is to aid people in developing a healthy body and a healthy mind by educating people about proper nutrition, the importance of exercise, and measures that can be taken to prevent disease.  Now about a week ago, I wrote on the ministry’s Facebook wall that on Sunday I will be giving an informative presentation on carbohydrates.  Many people were rather excited about this presentation and were really counting on me, so when Sunday came around and I hadn’t really gotten any sleep, I could not just cancel the presentation so I would be able to get some extra shut eye. That would be irresponsible of me to do so and I just couldn’t bare to have that on my conscience.

So I dragged myself to my closet, put on my orange dress, brushed the crazy mess I call my hair, and made my way to church.

After my dad (he’s actually the church’s pastor) finished his sermon, I made my way into the church library to set up my presentation. I plugged in a computer to the TV so  I could show my Google Doc presentation (which is basically like PowerPoint), I almost obsessively arranged the high-fiber granola bars I was going to handout to those who showed up, and I diligently organized my informative pamphlets on the functions and benefits of the very misunderstood macronutrient the carbohydrate.  Once everything was in order people began to show up. First it was only two, then suddenly it was four, and in just a matter of minutes I had 10 people in the room wanting to listen to what I had to say.  I was honestly amazed with how many people were there because I didn’t really have very high hopes. The coolest thing was knowing each and every single person in the church library WANTED to be there and they WANTED to hear what I had to say. I can’t describe in words how good that felt.

Throughout the presentation I was smiling, cracking jokes, and getting everyone to laugh.  For the 40 minutes I presented, I finally felt like I was “old me” again – the one who didn’t let her anxiety or eating disorder rule her life.  Once my presentation ended, everyone clapped and told me I was very gifted, intelligent, and entertaining speaker.  These compliments made me feel on top of the world, but I think what made me feel even more happy was the fact that I gave back. I took the time to educate people about making healthy decisions – a skill that seems to have been lost in our modern, westernized culture.

Leave a Reply

