A Friday to Remember

It was early Thursday morning when my dad left the house with a deep blue suitcase in tow. The mundane suburban landscape was still  trapped in a sea of darkness and the crisp fall air bit the skin with its cold, sharp teeth. As my dad drove his little white car and disappear  into the lightless morning abyss, I couldn’t help but be overcome with a feeling of uneasiness. I knew he would be back from Florida on Sunday with stories of the state’s sky-blue oceans and hot yellow sun, but the idea of being with just my mom for even this short amount of time was a frightening thing to think about.

I am not really used to my mom being home for a even a tiny period of time. Due to her demanding job, she usually stays in Chicago during the week and if she’s not in Chicago, well she’s in some other state around the US. Now since my mom isn’t really there during the week at all, I bet you would expect that I would be overjoyed when she returns home. I hate to break it to you, but that is far from the case. To be brutally honest, I have come to dread the moment when she walks through the door after a long week of work.  For a few short moments after she’s come home, she is thrilled to see my dog, sister, dad, and me. She hugs us and as she walks to her room to unpack the over-organized contents of her suitcase, she asks us how are week went. But after she completes this little ritual, her whole disposition becomes choleric. She begins to ridicule us if the house isn’t spotless and makes us feel like we are lazy and worthless. Her anger and frustration spreads throughout the house like wildfire and soon everyone is burning with rage. Fights begin to break out for absolutely no reason and most of these fights are between my mom and I.

So now I hope you can see why the whole idea of my mom staying with my sister and I for a little bit sounded just plain terrible! I thought I would be counting  the minutes till my dad returned home.  But something happened last night that completely altered my whole idea of what my time with my mom was going to be like. It was one of the greatest surprises I have ever had.

Yesterday afternoon was when I began to think this girls-only weekend was going to be a phenomenal bonding experience. You may remember from yesterday’s blog post that I had an appointment with my psychiatrist’s, Dr.K.  Dr. K was running incredibly late and my mom and I were trapped in the mundane waiting of the private psychiatric clinic where he works. For over an hour, we sat waiting. Usually when Dr. K is this behind, I turn into a cantankerous and rather disrespectful juvenile. That day though, that didn’t happen at all. The whole time my mom and I were joking, laughing, and even having conversations that weren’t superficial! I mean IT WAS AMAZING. Who knew that being stuck in a waiting room with some pretty irritable patients for an hour (including a VERY angry drug addict) could be such a pleasant experience?!?!?!?!? 🙂

After our visit with Dr. K, we headed on home and decided to have a movie night! We ordered food from a local, nutritious Asian fusion restaurant and watched one of the greatest DreamWorks films EVER – The Prince of Egypt! We had such an excellent time and I think today will just as good or even better!

Leave a Reply

