Eating Disorder Treatment 101: An Introduction to My NEW BLOG SERIES!

Let me tell you the story on why I have decided to write this series on eating disorder treatment.

As most of you know, I spent the early years of my eating disorder in hospitals and treatment facilities.  Since I was so young at the time,  making my own medical decisions was off the table, and so my parents were the ones who searched for facilities and signed all the admission papers.  The first time I arrived at a facility after a hospitalization, I was just thirteen. I had no understanding of how serious my illness actually was and how medically unstable I had become.   I also had absolutely no desire to get well. Sure, I chugged my Ensures and stuffed my face with bowls upon bowls of lukewarm mac-n-cheese, but I did not actively participate in groups, I kept myself guarded in individual therapy sessions, and I blatantly refused to complete my CBT packet.

Now here I am – an eighteen year old who dreams of being able to speak French fluently, of traveling the world to visit every religion’s most sacred sites, and of becoming a health care professional who helps those who suffer from eating disorders. And I am also an eighteen year old who still can’t eat at restaurant, who still counts calories religiously, and who still is incredibly frightened of gaining even one measly ounce!

My friends, I am still very ill. Sure, I’ve made progress over the years but my eating disorder has yet to go into remission. Now I live with the regret of not taking advantage of the intensive treatment I was offered.

And that’s exactly why I am writing this new series on eating disorder treatment. I do not want anyone making the same mistakes I made. I want to help you, my fellow eating disorder sufferer, find and get the best treatment you can possibly receive and to take advantage of everything treatment has to offer.

So you may be wondering what exactly I am going to cover in this series. Lucky for you, I’m a meticulous planner and I made a list of the every single one of the topics you’ll see here on Forever Going Forward.

  1. How to Find the Best (for you) Eating Disorder Treatment Center – March 7th, 2016
  2. Packing for Eating Disorder Treatment? The Ten Things You Must Bring!  – March 14th, 2016
  3. How to Get the Most Out of Eating Disorder Treatment -March 21st, 2016

Alright you guys, I hope that sounds like a good plan!

Now before you head on off to work or school or whatever you do at this time of day, I want to remind you guys to check out my new Q&A YouTube video and after watching it, please leave a comment in the comment box below about your experiences (good or bad) with family or friends who don’t know anything about eating disorders. I’d love to feature some of them in my next YouTube video, “How to Deal with People Who Don’t Know Anything about Eating Disorders.

Have a wonderful day and you’ll hear from me soon!

Leave a Reply

